Youth Legislature

Sixty-eight students from West Feliciana Middle School participate in Youth Legislature last week. These students traveled to the old state capital in Baton Rouge to learn first hand how legislative process works. Students go through the legislative process using bills they have created. Five  of the bills written and presented by WFMS students were signed into law. Katie Seal, Tim Lindsey, Jack Sam Leak, Jared Lane, Laurel Fiser, and Jayden Lee all ran for state offices. 8th grader, Jared Lane was elected governor of Youth Legislature and Laurel Fiser was elected Lt. Governor. While 8th grader Jayden Lee is elected as President of the Senate during Youth Legislature session 8. WFMS made a great showing at this year's Youth Legislature!